What is the FIFA Club World Cup? The FIFA Club World Cup is an interleague men’s association football competition. It organizes by the Federation International of Football Association. It is the sport’s global governing body.

The competition was first contested in 2000 as the FIFA Club World Championship, along with the Intercontinental Cup. It was a first attempt to give a global projection to all confederations.

History of FIFA Club World Cup:

In 1999, FIFA had the purpose that this championship would replace the Intercontinental Club Cup. That was held annually in Tokyo, Japan with the champions of Europe and South America.

As no agreement had reached with the sponsors of the Toyota Cup, it went ahead. A second edition was scheduling to be held in Spain in 2001 with 12 teams. However, it got canceled due to a number of factors, the most important of which was the collapse of the FIFA marketing partner: ISL.

The event was then rescheduled for 2003, but this was not done either. FIFA eventually agreed to the terms with the organization of the Toyota Cup to join the 2 competitions. It was relaunched the first installment of the two championships united in 2005.

What is the FIFA Club World Cup?Format:

In its first edition, in 2000, the participating teams were the champions of the greatest competitions of each continent. In addition, the Brazilian champion, for being the organizing country of the event, and a team that invited Real Madrid, for being the 1998 Intercontinental Cup champion.

The teams release in 2 groups of 4. The winners of each group face the final.

What is the FIFA Club World Cup?
FIFA Club World Cup

The participating teams are the champions of the largest continental competitions, making a total of 6 teams. The European and South American groups directly point to the semifinals. The remaining teams (North American, Asian, African, and Oceanic), are released in 2 pairs, which face no single part

The winners win the semifinals against the European and South American teams. From the 2007 edition, the competition of the champion of the organizing country came to the competition.

Having this one to place a qualifying match against the ocean champion, the winner of the match bets the quarterfinals at the foot of the representatives of Central and North America, Africa, and Asia. 

The champions of South America and Europe enter, as in the previous format, directly to the semifinals and never cross. The other two semifinalists emerge from the winners of the quarterfinals. The winners of the semifinals bet the final and the losers the third match.


The representatives of South America and Europe advance directly to the semifinals of the World Cup. It should be noting that the representative of each confederation has to affiliate said confederation.

In 2007, FIFA determined that the champion of Oceania would first face the champion of the host country. The winner of this part would contribute to the quarterfinals. In the case of the champion of the confederation of where the organizing country is the equipment of this country, the cup goes to the continental runner-up.

FIFA Club World Cup 2021:

FIFA took another key step in the organization of the new Club World Cup to be held from 2021. Months after having approved the realization of the contest consisting of 24 teams that will be held every 4 years. The Executive Council of the highest body of football confirmed China as the venue of the tournament.

The first edition of the tournament will take place between June 17 and July 4, 2021. It will be held every 4 years.

Where it is played?

Although it had been speculated on the possibility of being played in South America, more precisely in Argentina, it was finally defined on October 24 that the headquarters will be China.

As reported by FIFA through its website, the highest football organization worldwide with the Chinese Federation will be responsible. They are responsible for preparing the final list of stadiums where the tournament will take place.

What is the FIFA Club World Cup?
FIFA Club World Cup

Which will be the format?

The competition will consist of 8 clubs from Europe, 6 from South America, 3 from Concacaf, 3 from Africa, 3 from Asia and 1 from Oceania.

In groups of 3 teams, the Champions League and Europa League champions of the last 4 editions will face the 6 South American teams. 4 of the 6 will be the champions of the last 2 editions of the Copa Libertadores and the South American, in 2019 and 2020. That is to say that Independiente del Valle and Flamengo or River already have their place.

There will be 3 from Africa, Asia, and CONCACAF and the rest from Oceania. The leader of each group accesses the quarterfinals. If the same team champion more than once during the 4 years of each period, it would replace the next classified in the ranking of each continental confederation.

Who is going to finance?

The new FIFA project is backed by the Japanese Softbank’s consortium. That will pay between 12,000 and 15,000 million Euros until 2029 for the realization of the new Club World Cup.

Prize money:

Just by qualifying for the Club World Cup, the teams secure 1 million dollars and the champion wins 5 million dollars.

Bitcoin Football Betting:

Bitcoin football betting is one of the popular gambling that has millions of fans around the world. If you want to play Bitcoin Football Betting, we recommend visiting sportsbet.io. It is a trusted online sportsbook and casino site where you can bet in your favorite local or cryptocurrency.