You must a big fan of the La Liga matches and obviously, you are eager to know how many games in La Liga? Well, here in this article, we are going to discuss everything about La Liga.

La Liga 2019
La Liga 2019

How many games in La Liga?

Each team plays 38 games and that are played mostly on Saturday and Sunday afternoons. Often, however, there is also a game on Mondays, the so-called Monday-night. This la Liga consists of 20 member clubs.

Spanish soccer league: Main competition between football teams in Spain. It is celebrated annually since 1929, and the season takes place between the months of September (or end of August) and June (or end of May). Where to watch La Liga?

The tournament is integrated by a pyramidal system of interconnected leagues (divisions), whose maximum category is the First Division or LaLiga or for reasons of sponsorship like LaLiga Santander. At the end of each season and depending on the results obtained, the participating teams can ascend or descend division.

How many games in la liga?League system:

The system used in the Spanish Football League is pyramidal, with a first division that can be accessed by teams that are climbing positions from the fifth category or regional divisions.

Competition system:

How many games in la liga?Participating teams:

In order to participate in the Spanish League clubs must be federated. In the case of professional categories (first and second division), clubs must also meet the requirements of the National Professional Football League (LFP). Unlike other countries, like the English League, the affiliated teams can participate in the League, although never in a division superior or equal to the team to which they belong.

La-Liga Team
La-Liga: Teams participating

Development of the competition:

Although the number of teams that make up each division varies, all categories follow the same competition system. The tournament takes place between the months of September (or end of August) and June (or end of May) of the following year.

Each club faces two occasions to the other teams of its same division (once in own field and another one in the one of the opposite), following a schedule established by lottery at the beginning of the season. Generally, one day is played every week (coinciding with the weekend).

The matches end at ninety minutes, without extensions or penalty shootout in case of ending in a draw. Read more about La Liga on their official page.

Scoring and classification:

Depending on the result at the end of each game, the teams obtain a series of points: three for the winner, zero for the loser and one point for each team in case of a tie.

Championship qualification for La-liga

At the end of the season, a classification is made based on the points accumulated throughout the championship. If two teams finish on equal points, the first tiebreaker criterion is the result of a direct confrontation between those teams that finish the tournament in equal points.

Second criterion:

The better difference between goals scored and received, if the tie persists, the team that has scored the most goals will win. In case there have been three or more teams involved in the draw, the number of points obtained in the clashes between the clubs involved is taken into account first, following the difference of goals in the clashes between these clubs.

If the equality was not finished, the goals scored and conceded throughout the league would be taken into account by the clubs tied to points. The system is eliminatory. That is, if with the first tiebreaker method, a tiebreaker team and the tie between two others persists, the whole system will be applied again to the clubs that are still tied, eliminating the already tiebreakers.

All this helps to determine the champion of the regular league at the end of the last day. The team that adds more points at the end of the championship is proclaimed champion of its category and, in the case of the First Division, the first classified is considered the league champion.

Since it is a hierarchical system of interconnected leagues, the first classified in each division have the option of moving up to the next category, replacing the last classified in that category, which is degraded. The number of teams ascending and descending varies according to each category.

First division:

The first four classified in the first division agree to participate in the European competition of the following season: the Champions League. The first three get a direct qualification, while the fourth disputes a qualifying round (if eliminated in these qualifiers, they will participate in the Europa League, the former UEFA Cup). These places are variable and depend on the UEFA coefficient of Spain, referring to their teams, so that the Champions League access the most powerful teams as the Spanish or Italian teams are stronger, for example, than the Scots; therefore the first two have 4 seats and the Scottish only 1. This standard is for all European competitions.

The fifth and sixth place:

The fifth and sixth place gets the direct classification to participate the following season in the Europa League, next to the champion of the Copa del Rey.

If this is classified between the 5th and 6th places (classified for the Europa League), the team that obtains the seventh position also plays the Europa League, which will also happen when the two finalists of the Copa del Rey have qualified for the Champions League. If only the champion qualified for the Champions League, he will participate in the Europa League the runner-up of the Copa del Rey.

Fans of the La Liga, for sure also like betting on the La Liga events. Find the best La Liga odds at